Gratitude Rock 99

28 Mar

Leiza Alpass (Bristol, UK) to The Downs (Bristol, UK)

So here it is, the penultimate 100 Gratitude Rock.  Again, I hope that the person who finds this Gratitude Rock takes the necessary action to send it on.

Thank you to the people who decided to retain this beautiful expanse of land for the people of Bristol to enjoy known as The Downs.  I appreciate  this space often as I run around the perimeter in my preparation for the Bristol Half Marathon and this year for the mighty London 2012 marathon!   I love to see so many people enjoying the space from fitness bootcamps to flower shows!  Last weekend I saw a group of little ‘angels’ doing their  ‘comic relief go the extra mile’ – families enjoying their time together on a beautiful spring morning.  Thank  you to everyone who keeps this area clean and looking so beautiful for us all to enjoy whenever we want to.  Yours very gratefully. Leizax

4 Responses to “Gratitude Rock 99”

  1. Healthwise Chiropractor September 27, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    GR99 Sarah Owen to Chris. It meant a huge amount to receive Gratitude Rock number 99 from Fran, a wonderful and inspirational friend. It arrived out of the blue and in a very touching way. I think the feeling of being given the rock will always stick, and become one of those feelings you keep returning to as time passes, to remember and to keep smiling.
    It is recommended that you pass the rock on to the first person that you think of. I’m sticking with that advice, and am sending it to Chris. Chris made a big act of kindness and generosity to me about 5 or 6 years ago, that made a very real difference to my life at the time. It was time when I was struggling, and her gift arrived totally without warning and with a very open heart. I’ve often thought what would have happened had Chris not done this, and I can’t think how I would have kept my head above the water at that particular point in time. Time has passed since then, and I keep remembering her kindness with gratitude. Wishing you well with life and projects, Thanks, Sarah (comment added by Leiza Alpass on behalf of Sarah)

  2. Fran Lloyd July 30, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    So yesterday Kate gave me Gratitude Rock #99, and I was so touched! We have both said over the past year how much we appreciate each other’s friendship, and I have to say that when I read the information card I just wanted to give the rock straight back to her… But then I knew that it would never get very far!
    To say that Kate has become one of my best friends doesn’t quite cut it – to put it simply, she puts a smile on my face whenever I think about her, and she has changed my way of thinking about the world and myself in such a wonderfully positive way that has made me extremely grateful to have such a fantastic person in my life.
    I was thinking over all the people in my life who I am grateful to (for whatever reason – there are many), when I thought of Sarah Owen, and it just clicked that she was the one who just HAS to have this little token of gratitude. This lovely lady has been a huge part in my life as a co-worker, mentor and best friend, and I appreciate all of what she has been and is in my life.
    To both of you wonderful people. thank you, and keep this thing going!
    Fran xxx

    (Rock #99 received from Kate Marks on the 29th July 2012 in the Imperial Pub, Exeter)

  3. Kate Marks July 29, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Hello! My name is Kate Marks, and I’ve been given gratitude rock #99. One of my best friends had been to Bristol for a day trip with her family, and decided to go for a walk on the Downs, where she found it on a bench. I hadn’t seen her for about 6 months as we are both at university, and when we met at our favourite pub in Exeter, she was carrying a package. Bumbling with excitement she gave it to me, explaining that she had found it on the Bristol Downs, and that when she saw it she thought of me. I’m very happy that she is in my life, and despite being only 21 and 20, we mean alot to each other, and I’m sure we will be enriching our lives for many years to come. Thankful that the rock, for us, has symbolised this gratitude, and am excited to see what it comes to represent for others.

    I will be giving it to someone who means alot to me, and taught me alot about community, love, forgiveness and friendship. I wander where her journey will take her.

    • Leiza Alpass July 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      Hey Kate, how exciting to hear from you and read your comment. Gratitude rock 99 is still rocking! Fantastic! Thank you for uploading your comment and being part of this wave of gratitude. Leizax

When you receive or send a gratitude rock, share your story here. Remember to include your gratitude rock number, your location and if you wish the names of those you wish to acknowledge for their contribution to you....... Remember to 'tick the box' below to receive future comments on your rock.

